AWAS International GmbH | +49 (0)2737 / 9850-0 | info@awas.de | Login

Engagement knows no boundaries

We all live in the same environment. We are only able to maintain it together.

AWAS delivers environmental technology for Ghana

 

The resource of water is becoming increasingly scarce in Ghana. The causes are growth of population, urbanization and expansion of irrigated agriculture. At the same time water pollution caused by industrialization increases. For the Ghanaian water supply open water reservoirs are often used which are fed by industrial wastewater as well. Sewage systems are rarely available. Water treatment in the outdated municipal facilities constitutes a major problem.


60.000 litres per day

This is where the AWAS-project starts: We installed an exemplary system for wastewater treatment at the Ghanaian producer for edible oil Ghana Nuts Limited (GNL). It treats the daily 60.000 litres of wastewater and recycles most of it back into the production process. GNL-employees were trained in operation and maintenance of the system in order to use it independently in the future. In addition, information events about water management are planned. As part of this commitment, AWAS built a public drinking fountain in the immediate vicinity of the plant, which will provide, among others, a hospital which is still under construction. To prevent bacterial contamination of the well water, a biological light system is integrated.


Transfer of knowledge

The aim of the project is to promote knowledge transfer and exchanges between enterprises, institutions, universities and the population in Ghana on water management and to raise awareness for it. The State Environmental Protection Agency of Ghana receives assistance for new standards of water quality. AWAS uses this demonstration plant to gain reliable market data and to show itself as a professional partner for water and wastewater treatment in the African market.

INTERVIEW

"We are a producer of soya oil and shea-butter. We produce approximately 30 tons of soya oil and 70 tons of shea-butter every day. For the production of the oil we need a lot of fresh water. Simultaneously a big amount of waste water arises. In the past we had some difficulties with environment agencies because we were not able to clean our waste water correctly. Through a public private partnership with the German company AWAS we built a new waste water treatment plant. Since we have built this plant, we protect the environment. At the same time we produce cost-effective, because we return the cleaned water back into the production process."



Prince OBENG, Stellvertr. Geschäftsführer
GHANA NUTS Ltd, Techiman, Ghana

AWAS International GmbH | +49 (0)2737 / 9850-0 | info@awas.de | Login

Engagement kennt keine Grenzen

Wir leben alle in derselben Umwelt. Wir können sie nur gemeinsam erhalten.

AWAS liefert Umwelttechnik für Ghana


Die Ressource Wasser wird in Ghana immer knapper. Ursachen dafür sind Bevölkerungswachstum, Urbanisierung und Ausbau der Bewässerungslandwirtschaft. Gleichzeitig nimmt durch Industrialisierung die Wasserverschmutzung zu. Für die ghanaische Trinkwasserversorgung werden in der Regel offene Wasserreservoire genutzt, in die auch industrielle Abwässer fließen. Klärtechnik ist nur selten vorhanden. Die Wasseraufbereitung in den überalterten städtischen Anlagen stellt ein großes Problem dar.

60.000 Liter täglich

Hier setzt das Vorhaben von AWAS an: Das Unternehmen installiert bei dem ghanaischen Speiseölproduzenten Ghana Nuts Limited (GNL) eine beispielhafte Anlage zur Abwasserbehandlung. Diese bereitet die rund 60.000 Liter Abwasser, die täglich anfallen, auf und führt sie größtenteils wieder in den Produktionsprozess zurück. GNL-Mitarbeiter werden in Betrieb und Wartung der Anlage geschult, um diese auch eigenständig weiter nutzen zu können. Zudem sind Informationsveranstaltungen rund um das Thema Wassermanagement geplant. AWAS installiert im Rahmen des Engagements in unmittelbarer Nähe der Anlage einen öffentlichen Trinkwasserbrunnen, der unter anderem ein im Bau befindliches Krankenhaus versorgen wird. Um eine Verkeimung des Brunnenwassers zu verhindern, ist ein biologisches Lichtsystem integriert.

Wissenstransfer

Ziel des Vorhabens ist es, den Wissenstransfer sowie den Austausch zwischen Unternehmen, Institutionen, der Universität und der Bevölkerung in Ghana zum Thema Wassermanagement zu fördern und auf diese Weise dafür zu sensibilisieren. Die staatliche Umweltbehörde von Ghana erhält eine Hilfestellung für neue Normen und Standards der Wasserqualität. Mit der Demonstrationsanlage will AWAS verlässliche Marktdaten gewinnen und sich als kompetenter Partner für Wasser- und Abwasseraufbereitung im afrikanischen Markt zeigen.

 

INTERVIEW

"Wir sind ein Produzent von Sojaöl und Shea-Butter. Wir produzieren ca. 30 Tonnen von Sojaöl und 70 Tonnen von Shea-Butter pro Tag. Bei der Herstellung von Öl brauchen wir viel frisches Wasser. Gleichzeitig entsteht viel Abwasser. Früher haben wir viele Schwierigkeiten mit der Umweltschutzbehörde bekommen, da wir unser Abwasser nicht richtig reinigen konnten. Durch eine Public Private Partnership mit der deutschen Firma AWAS haben wir heute eine Abwasserreinigungsanlage aufgebaut. Seitdem wir diese Anlage aufgebaut haben, schonen wir die Umwelt. Gleichzeitig produzieren wir kostengünstig, weil wir das gereinigte Wasser wieder in den Produktionsprozess zurückführen."



Prince OBENG, Stellvertr. Geschäftsführer
GHANA NUTS Ltd, Techiman, Ghana